Frightened Pretty Young Woman Against a Brick Wall at Night.

AVFM Exclusive: Documentation of Title IX complaint against Emerson College surfaces, questionable accusations abound

In the midst of an increasingly energetic campaign, led by the Department of Education (DOE) and accompanied by the White House, to investigate Title IX complaints against dozens of colleges and universities, AVFM has received a copy of one such complaint against Emerson College in Boston, Massachusetts.

Last fall, Emerson College was beset with a massive amount of local as well as some national media coverage concerning the alleged mishandling of several sexual assault investigations conducted by their Title IX personnel. Three students—Sarah Tedesco, Jillian Daugherty, and Sarita Nadkarni—were very vocal and accommodating in response to press inquiries of their allegations and the school’s handling of them. All three alleged that Emerson fostered a hostile environment by failing to investigate, by discouraging them from reporting their assaults to the police, and by failing to inform them of their rights.

In October 2013, the three students filed the Title IX complaint with the help of End Rape on Campus (EROC), an organization that has been a driving force behind many of the recent Title IX complaints filed with the DOE in recent months. The Emerson complaint is featured on a list of 11 schools EROC had “assisted” on their website.

On May 1, 2014, under mounting pressure from groups like EROC, the DOE released a list of 55 colleges that were to face investigations into Title IX violations of sexual assault policy. “We are making this list available in an effort to bring more transparency to our enforcement work and to foster better public awareness of civil rights,” Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights Catherine E. Lhamon said in a statement. “We hope this increased transparency will spur community dialogue about this important issue. I also want to make it clear that a college or university’s appearance on this list and being the subject of a Title IX investigation in no way indicates at this stage that the college or university is violating or has violated the law.”

The announcement followed much fanfare from the previous week, with President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden weighing in on promises to protect women from sexual violence and to bring more transparency to the federal government when it comes to violations of civil rights.

“Colleges and universities can no longer turn a blind eye or pretend rape and sexual assault doesn’t occur on their campuses,” Vice President Biden said after the White House issued a 20-page report on April 24 that set guidelines on how schools should deal with sexual assault. “We need to provide survivors with more support and we need to bring perpetrators to more justice and we need colleges and universities to step up.”

On May 28, the DOE released the names of five more schools that are to face investigations into Title IX violations.

The document given to AVFM News earlier this week by an anonymous source outlines the cases of four complainants: the three students mentioned above and one anonymous student. It is poorly written and was labeled as a draft in its file name. Currently it is not clear whether the entire document has been released to the school or to the local press, who has covered the complaint extensively. It must also be made clear that AVFM cannot verify that this document is genuine, as recent Title IX complaints have not been made public by the DOE. In order to protect the identity of the document’s provider, AVFM cannot provide details about how it came into that individual’s possession.

The document can be seen here.

AVFM has redacted all of the names of the accused in the document and also any information that could lead to their identification.

Complainant #1: Sarah Tedesco

In an October 10, 2013, article published in Emerson’s student newspaper The Berkley Beacon, Sarah Tedesco stated that after reporting an October 12, 2012, assault to campus authorities and Emerson police, she was encouraged to discontinue the police investigation.

“She said she thought that because of everything that it would be in my best emotional interest to drop the charges through the Cambridge Police Department,” Tedesco said of a campus housing official investigating the incident. “She said she thought that it was taking over my life and hurting me emotionally.”

Tedesco, citing her “emotionally impressionable” state at the time of the above suggestion, told the Beacon that she took the advice. She also stated that the reason the case was then, and apparently is still now, unresolved by both the police and the school was because she took this advice. The Title IX complaint states that there was evidence in Tedesco’s sexual assault collection (rape) kit connecting one of the two students allegedly involved in Tedesco’s sexual assault—one from Emerson and the other from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)but no disciplinary action was taken against the individual by the Emerson College Police Department (ECPD), the Office of Student Conduct, or the Cambridge Police.

Tedesco’s accounts to the press and in the Title IX complaint state that she received threatening texts from one of her alleged assailants during and after the aborted investigation and that she was the victim of another alleged rape by the same assailants in April 2013.

One remarkable detail the local press has not mentioned about the complaint is that one of Tedesco’s alleged assailants is a female student at Emerson. Also, the only DNA evidence cited from the police investigation of the alleged rape was the presence of female saliva in Tedesco’s vagina.

The Title IX complaint states that the alleged male assailant hit Tedesco’s head against a wall in a fraternity house office at nearby MIT and then forced her to the floor, where he penetrated her vaginally. Additionally, the complaint stated that “due to her intoxication, incapacitation, and trauma,” Tedesco did not remember her alleged female assailant being in the room when questioned by officials after the event, even though the only evidence present of any sexual contact was that of a female’s saliva in Tedesco’s vagina.

Tedesco’s complaint goes on to allege harassment during the adjudication process in the form of text messages from her alleged female assailant, which, according to Tedesco, included information that “only someone present during her assault would know.” Tedesco said she informed school officials, who told her that because the text messages were sent anonymously, they could not prove the assailant sent them. The complaint stated that in a final report emailed to Tedesco after the investigation’s closing, Emerson said they had attempted to track the messages through their IT department but were unable to trace the source. The report also stated that the college had urged Tedesco to go to the Boston Police and have the messages professionally tracked.

Puzzlingly, Tedesco did not go to the police at this point. The explanation provided in the report was that officials had recommended during her initial complaint (before the presence of any threatening texts) that she not involve the police any further and to drop the investigation.

Complainant #2: Jillian Doherty

The second complainant, Jillian Doherty, told The Berkeley Beacon that she reported her assault a year after it allegedly occurred and that she initiated the investigation process when her alleged assailant was studying abroad—not allowing him to directly respond to her accusations.

According to the complaint, Doherty was raped by a fellow Emerson student on April 6, 2012, after responding to a Facebook message from the alleged assailant asking her to come over and engage in consensual sex at his residence. She complied with this request, engaging in admittedly consensual sex with him, but said that immediately after the consensual encounter he allegedly forced her to engage in anal sex.

“When Doherty initially refused XXXXX’s request for anal sex, he verbally harassed Doherty,” states the Title IX complaint. “XXXXX then anally penetrated Doherty without warning or her verbal consent. Doherty’s extreme pain and emotional distress during the attack caused her to begin to cry out while XXXXX was still actively assaulting her. She pleaded with XXXXX to stop several times, but he continued to rape her. XXXXX finally stopped raping Doherty when he passed out from intoxication and/or exhaustion.”

The alleged assailant was reported to have had only six beers.

Her alleged assailant reported to investigators a year later that he did not remember having anal sex with her, only consensual vaginal sex, before showing her to the door and saying goodbye.

Doherty confided in her roommates about the sexual encounter shortly after the alleged event. They in turn told investigators that they had got the impression that Doherty had just experienced a bad sexual encounter, according to the Title IX complaint. It was only after confiding in a friend a week later that Doherty “realized” that she had been raped, and instead of reporting it to the police or the school administration, she told her therapist in spring 2012.

Even though the complaint states that Doherty was “unable to make sense of what happened,” she had contacted her alleged attacker via Facebook messages, which were said to be private and were not provided in the Title IX complaint (nor is there any mention that they were provided during the investigation), accusing him of raping her anally. According to the complaint, she said he messaged her back, claiming he had no memory of assaulting her. The complaint does not specify when this exchange took place.

However, the Title IX complaint did specify that on March 2, 2013, nearly a year after the alleged assault, Doherty filed an informal report of the rape after learning about a letter writing campaign organized “to open the college’s eyes to the rape epidemic happening at Emerson.” She wrote several high-level Emerson administrators, including President Lee Pelton, who, along with all the other recipients, responded promptly both in a private email as well as a public statement posted on the school’s website.

An investigator was promptly assigned to Doherty’s complaint, and after a month of deliberation the board of investigators proclaimed that the alleged accused was “not responsible” for raping Doherty.

The judgement summary reads:

“1. Both [Jillian] and [XXXXX] admitted to consuming alcoholic beverages during the night of the alleged incident and to being intoxicated at the time of the alleged incident.
2. The Board concluded that both [Jillian] and [XXXXX] genuinely believed [they] were telling the truth in [their] statements concerning the incident. However, the Board found it more likely than not that both [Jillian] and [XXXXX] were unable to fully and accurately remember what occurred at the time of the alleged incident due to their respective alcohol consumption.
3. [Jillian] testified during the hearing that [XXXXX] engaged in forcible, non-consensual anal sex with [her]. However, [Jillian’s] testimony in this regard was inconsistent with an account of the same event [she] provided to a witness on the day immediately following the alleged incident.
Based on the above findings, the Board concluded that the evidence was insufficient to support a finding that it is more likely than not that the Respondent violated the College’s Code of Conduct as charged. Accordingly, the Board found the Respondent “not responsible” for the charges and no sanctions are being issued against the Respondent.”

The Title IX complaint charges “unequal treatment” during the hearing, further stating that a letter of character had been submitted to the board on behalf of Doherty’s alleged attacker, which Doherty did not have an opportunity to review beforehand. This, in spite of the complaint stating that Doherty herself chose to leave the Boston area during the time of the hearing.

Emerson College is repeatedly cited in the complaint for not informing Doherty of her right to contact police. The complaint also states that Doherty herself would have gone to the police initially had she known that the school would have “mishandled her case to the degree that they did.” This contradicts a statement Doherty made in an interview with The Berkeley Beacon, in which she said she did not go to the police because she “didn’t feel she had sufficient evidence to present to law enforcement.”

Complainant #3: Sarita Nadkarni

The third complainant, Sarita Nadkarni, reported to have been assaulted in the early hours of March 13, 2013, after a night of celebrating her birthday with friends.

The account in the Title IX complaint states that on the way back to their dormitory after enjoying drinks at Lolita’s, a local establishment in Boston’s Back Bay area, Nadkarni and one of her friends were approached by two men. After her friend asked one of the men for a cigarette, she then asked if they could take a picture of her and Nadkarni to commemorate the event. The men accompanied the women on their way back home and bought them coffee at a 7-11 en route.

The foursome reached the dormitory, where Nadkarni’s friend asked if the two men could join them in their dorm room to drink some beer. Nadkarni reported that she agreed after hesitation and only on the condition that her friend sign the two men in, making her “responsible” for their presence there.

Nadkarni spoke briefly to a dormitory neighbor who had accompanied her and her friend that night but had returned to the dormitory early. Speaking of her guests, Nadkarni told her that she “might sleep with one of them.”

While in the dormitory, Nadkarni did in fact have sex with one of the men while both her friend and the other man were still in the room. After finishing, the man said he needed to step outside to have a cigarette. After he left Nadkarni and her friend in the room with the other man, the other man started to kiss Nadkarni. Seeing this, Nadkarni’s friend left the room, leaving the door locked on the inside.

The Title IX account of what happened next seems to contradict logic.

The complaint stated that the man started to perform oral sex on Nadkarni, but she did not stop him because she felt “confused.” He then allegedly started to penetrate her digitally while choking her. Then he stopped choking her to “masterbate [sic] on her face,” and that in spite of her being alert and the man having both hands occupied, she was “physically unable to stop him.” Only when the man tried to get between Nadkarni’s legs did she “finaly tell him to stop,” according to the complaint. He did, however, allegedly continue to “painfully digitally penetrate her,” but upon hearing someone at the door she was suddenly able to push him off in order to get off the bed to open it.

Nadkarni then went to the bathroom and subsequently the shower room, where the dorm neighbor whom she spoke to earlier questioned her about what had happened. After hearing Nadkarni’s account, her neighbor asked whether Nadkarni had consented. When Nadkarni said no, her other friend who had been in the room with her and the man said, “You totally consented. I saw you kiss him, made sure you were OK, then left. You were fine.”

The complaint attributes this contradiction of accounts to “Emerson College’s lack of Consent education,” even though only one witness saw the two engaging in consensual kissing and neither witness saw what had actually happened after that. Nadkarni chose not to go to the police and instead showered and went to bed. The complaint also attributes this act of self-volition to the school’s lack of education, stating that “Once again, because of the poor education on what to do after being assaulted, [her friend] was unaware to tell Nadkarni not to shower, or warn Nadkarni about the loss of evidence if she chose to.”

Complainant #4: Anonymous

The fourth complainant is listed as anonymous in the report, crippling Emerson’s ability to defend itself during the Title IX investigation.

The complainant was allegedly assaulted in early April 2011 while on her way home by a stranger who had stalked her and upon catching up to her attempted to kiss her. She fought back and he then allegedly bit her lip, calling her a “cunt whore.” Instead of contacting the police, she went directly home, where she stayed in bed for the rest of the weekend.

According to the report, a friend was finally successful in telling her to go to the Emerson Police Department, who were accused in the report of mistreating the complainant by simply admonishing her when saying they could have had a chance to capture the suspect had she reported the incident sooner.

“Sarah Tedesco and Jillian Doherty are two attention loving girls who are going on every news station that they can get on just to act like they were Raped when I know that [alleged assailant in complaint #2] was innocent from speaking to some of his friends,” wrote an Emerson student who wishes to remain anonymous in an email to AVFM News.

“As an Emerson student, I know that this community is not suffering from a ‘rape epidemic’ like these girls are saying it is. There is very little rape, look at the statistics online in their Clery report,” the student continued. “The school has been since before 2011, when the original Dear Colleague article came out and before this entire rape frenzy on college campuses started, working on prevention programs. These two manipulative girls did not say any of this when talking to media. They just sat silently and lied going on man hating sprees.”

In Emerson’s 2013 Clery report, the data show that in 2012 there were three reported sexual assaults on the Boston Campus of Emerson College. The first three complainants in the Title IX report account for the entirety of these. The fourth complainant reported in 2011, which accounts for one of only two reported sexual assaults in that year. There were no reports of sexual assault in 2010.

According to Emerson’s Office of Institutional Research’s 2013 Factbook, the total enrollment in the fall of 2012 was 4,489, with 1,582 (35%) male students and 2,907 (65%) female students. If the first three complainants were, in fact, raped that would make the percentage of women on campus raped that year to be 0.1%, or 1 in 969 female students.

 

Sources:

https://secure.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/08/emerson-sexual-assault_n_4059083.html

http://www.berkeleybeacon.com/news/2013/10/10/tedesco

http://www.necn.com/10/10/13/Outrage-growing-at-Emerson-College-over-/landing.html?blockID=854787

http://www.boston.com/yourcampus/news/emerson/2013/11/third_emerson_student_speaks_publicly_about_federal_complaint_over_college_mishandling_sexual_assaul.html

http://www.cbs.com/shows/cbs_evening_news/video/MIFXUoQffnr2_OUEzkbj36ES5QFtVjw7/some-college-sex-assault-victims-not-getting-help-law-requires/

http://www.emerson.edu/sites/default/files/Files/AboutEmerson/about-emerson-public-safety-2013-boston-clery-report.pdf

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/28/education-department-investigations-title-ix_n_5400345.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/01/college-sexual-assault_n_5247267.html

http://www.emerson.edu/sites/default/files/GenericPhotos/Academics/academic-affairs-institutional-research-factbook-2012-2013.pdf

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/education/white-house-issues-report-on-steps-to-prevent-sexual-assault-at-college-campuses/2014/04/28/0ebf1e22-cf1f-11e3-b812-0c92213941f4_story.html 

 

 

 

About Robert O'Hara

Bob O'Hara is the U.S. News Director for A Voice for Men. He is a men's rights activist living in the Washington, D. C. area who has done work with S.A.V.E. and is the host of a weekly radio show with news and analysis on men's and boys' issues.

View All Posts
  • Lastango

    These cases help show why the Obama Administration feels it needs to lower the bar to make more convictions possible. Standards for evidence and proof must be adjusted so that impressions and emotions are given the weight of fact. The inquiry process must be “supportive” for the alleged victim (the “survivor” in genderfeminist newspeak). The tribunal must be able to reach a sustainable finding of guilt based on a tribunal’s subjective impression of what it chooses to deem a “preponderance of evidence”.

    The second important element in this aspect of the War Against Men involves protecting schools from lawsuits when their kangaroo Kourts violate the defendant’s legal rights. Recent legislation in California compels schools to report incidents to police. This helps create the appearance that a crime has been committed. But that’s just the beginning:

    Karasek said the bill is just one step toward helping victims of sexual assault on campus. “Myself and other survivors are currently reaching out to compile a list of the best recommendations to address the needs of our community,” she said. Among those recommendations: more Title IX coordinators, more counselors, longer hours for health-care centers on college campuses, and rape kits provided by universities.

    Karasek says she hopes AB 1433 will start a nationwide trend of similar legislation. With state laws, “we will be able to see what the best practices are,” said Karasek.”If there were federal legislation I hope that it would build upon work that has been done by each of the states, and be driven by survivor action to be able to fix this in the best possible way.”

    http://rhrealitycheck.org/article/2014/01/08/california-bill-would-change-reporting-requirements-for-college-sexual-assaults/

    • TPH

      I can see the Obama administration pushing regulations and a law to prevent male students from legal action against the schools and accusers, in fact I suspect they have legislation ready to be submitted as the next presidential election starts. Look for due process to be totally eviscerated as the next election cycle starts and the “war on women” bullshit goes full steam to create a democratic voting block. This ain’t a dream folks, this is real and it’s going to get much worse unless we speak out against the destruction of due process and the basic right of innocent until proven guilty in a court of law, not a fucking political star chamber staffed by feminists!

      • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

        Due process has already been totally eviscerated.

        • ShlomoShunn

          The men’s movement did not MOVE to protect men. Obviously it didn’t care enough to, not valuing due process.

          It’s easy to invade countries that don’t defend their borders.

    • https://twitter.com/TicklishQuill Isaac T. Quill

      “These cases help show why the Obama Administration feels it needs to lower the bar to make more convictions possible.

      No – just lower the bar to convince the electorate at the next election to vote in Hilary, the Super Heroine Of The Middle Class American Woman. This is all smoke and mirrors and about mobilising and directing The Vagina Vote, the place where politicians know elections are won and lost.

      • Peter Wright

        Agree with all you wrote Isaac, right on. The part that makes me (((((shudder))))) is the election of Hillary . Heaven forbid – gendercide would be on the cards.

        • mike gibbs

          Yeah.. well, we all said that Obama would NEVER make it in the white house. Then we said he would NEVER make it to a second term.
          Look what happens when we sit on our hands…

          But don’t worry; Hillary will NEVER make it in… Right?

          The country is doomed-

          • http://batman-news.com MGTOW-man

            No matter about Benghazi, and Hillary’s failures, she will be our next president if she runs. The democratic side is so oblivious but thirsty for power that even if a dog were placed on the ticket, many would vote for it. I know one woman who admittedly said she would vote for a dog rather than for a republican. She may have intended to put down republicans, but she also proved me right. They are so clueless that many would vote for a dog. Fido would be our president.

          • Vương Vi-Nhuyễn – 王微軟

            Yes, and they also said that we’ll NEVER become mainstream, the more boys will suffer from those misandric laws, the more men and boys will join us as we’re already an organization ready to fight for the rights and dignity of them and their sons, brothers, friends, for whomever and whatever it’s necessary, a system based on hate can’t stand for long, this is why hate groups are always small in number, they’re one of the few large hate groups, expose their hate, and people will leave the misandric agenda… the Feminists will disassociate with all misandry, and we’ll become mainstream, all we have to do is raise awareness, and nothing raises more awareness in those U.S.A.’s political world than fighting a court-case…

        • alex brown

          Really? I think that comment is a bit over the top to be honest.

    • ShlomoShunn

      > “the (California) bill is just one step toward helping victims of sexual assault on campus.”

      What is the men’s movement doing while this BILL is being heard? Will it again do nothing, then complain about a “misandric LAW”?

      Bullies tend not to stop until opposed.

  • Usagi Yojimbo

    Get these into archives before the censors get them…they are going to hide these injustices because it goes against the party line.

    • http://www.avoiceformen.com/ Paul Elam

      These aren’t going anywhere.

      • Matthew Lane

        You’ve got to love digital permanence.

      • Andybob

        Dear Dr Elam,
        I just sent you an email with a post debunking David Futrelle’s accusation of Senator Cools as a homophobe. His lies are outrageous and I have given them the skewering they deserve. This bullshit about AVfM’s ‘homophobic agenda’ has to stop.
        Much respect,
        Andybob

        • http://www.avoiceformen.com/ Paul Elam

          It will be posted as a mega feature tomorrow. BLISTERING good piece. I am so shocked at that. /sarcasm

  • Ticklish Nipple

    I’m still rather curious as to why my university is being investigated.

    • Peter Wright

      Probably for the same reasons all these Universities are: List of Lawsuits Against Colleges and Universities Alleging Due Process Violations in Adjudicating Sexual Assault

      I see you’ve only made this one post here, so a word of advice on how we roll: AVfM takes the violation of men’s legal rights, false allegations, and the suspension of the presumption of innocence, very seriously…. so I recommend you leave your nipple-humour and inane questions at the door. ;-)

      • Ticklish Nipple

        Easy there, champ. First: I wouldn’t call it an inane question. I want to know why my uni is under investigation, because I want to know if I’m going to have to expect some inane “mandatory anti-rape seminar” when I head back for the Fall semester. Second: while I’m glad you find my screen name humorous, I see no reason why making a very PG13 joke in my screen name should exclude me from partaking in discussion.

        • Peter Wright

          As a first time poster here, “nipples” (teehee) I was merely giving you a bit of background on how this site views the topic of this thread.

          I’ll be interested to follow your posts and see what you have to contribute – looking forward to it.

        • DukeLax

          Take it easy bro, i welcome youre participation here. U gotta understand folks around here are getting a little jumpy when they see so much organised and unconstitutional actions being taken against them from American universities…using American taxpayer dollars to fund it.

        • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

          Sorry, Ticklish Nipple, but your screen name is not the funniest I’ve encountered (but it is funny). The funniest is: Stopabusingthechildsupportyouwhorablewench.

  • Gizmo

    Susan Estrich, love how she ignores male rape victims and supports kangaroo courts:

    http://news.yahoo.com/watch-next-steps-fight-against-campus-rape-070000479.html

    same article:
    http://www.creators.com/liberal/susan-estrich/watch-out-the-next-steps-in-the-fight-against-campus-rape.html

    And of course the crappy article from Emily Shugerman, who I now suspect to be an Estrich alias, which does much of the same:

    http://msmagazine.com/blog/2014/06/18/men-sue-in-campus-sexual-assault-cases/

    Until Proven Innocent, that is what these college kangaroo courts look at.


    Feminist injustice at its best, propaganda mixed with lies, prosecution void of evidence or truth, and punishment doled out where none is due.

  • Stu

    Title IX funding is just…adopt discrimination against men and we will give you money.

    • DukeLax

      1000 up votes for you sir!!!

    • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

      It would be bad enough if Title IX funding were as benign as you suggest. It doesn’t just promote discrimination which would make men second class citizens. It promotes persecution, enslavement, impoverishment, imprisonment and extermination. That’s not second class citizen. That’s third class.

    • TPH

      exactly

  • Aimee McGee

    One way we can support the legitimate victims of rape is to have advocates to support them through the legal system that do not have an ideological bias.
    I have done this as a sexual health advocate and attendant, where I was present and had the time and training to explain the testing and processes and speak on behalf of the patient at their request to ask for more information during testing and procedures.
    The police and the legal system have to ask difficult questions… It is not about doubting the victim, it is about making sure there is reliable evidence for a case.

    • Magnus

      “The police and the legal system have to ask difficult questions… It is not about doubting the victim, it is about making sure there is reliable evidence for a case.”

      And not to mention how serious the accusations actually are. They are right there below murder. So once an investigation IS started it will take a long time, and cost a lot of money.
      So asking the hard questions EARLY, and maybe saying that “maybe you are overreacting” might be the RIGHT thing to do!

    • alex brown

      Anmee are you able to sniff out genuine victims from the liars?

      • Aimee McGee

        Don’t need to. A nonideological advocate is there to facilitate the process without pushing one outcome. Feminist victim support advocates want the person to be believed and the perp caught and punished.
        From my sexual health advocacy I learned that contextualising the process was hugely valuable for reducing stress…so the conversation was often about what the purpose and rationale for part of the screening or treatment.
        With rape, as an advocate I would be reminding the victim that the questioning was not an attack, but is part of the process of determining if there was evidence for prosecution

    • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

      “It is not about doubting the victim, it is about making sure there is reliable evidence for a case.”
      _____
      No. The legal system is NOT about making sure there is reliable evidence for a case. Any idiot can fabricate or contrive evidence. It happens all the time. And it’s easy to do. The legal system is about making sure that both the accuser AND the accused are treated fairly and equitably under the law until such time the law is no longer equitable. Which it no longer is.

  • Peter Wright

    Very revealing information, Robert. It’s perhaps the first time that the fine detail of the Emerson College investigations have seen the light of day. I hope the release of this info helps to launch a formal investigation not only into these cases, but into the Title IX debacle in its entirety.

  • PlainOldTruth

    The education standard keeps falling. The obsession with genitalia keeps increasing. Economic depression and the “chickens coming home to roost” (unsustainable debt, intellectual mediocrity, lack of productivity, out-of-control waste of bureaucracy) gets swept under the rug.

    • DukeLax

      Washington is trying to “stimulate the economy” by pork bloating these massive bureaucracies….and their “make work” practices are getting destructive!!!

  • Magnus

    The current “Rape Hysteria Epidemic” to me sound like a Hypochondriac reading Web-MD.
    Oh, I have a tingling in my throat, better read web-MD to see what it might be… OH MY GOD I HAVE CANCER! (Even though there was a more likely scenario of just a cold)

    Same with these women.
    I had bad sex last night, chemistry was off, I better talk to my girlfriends about it…. OH MY GOD YOU WERE RAPED!.

    • Grimmlocked .

      does Occam’s razor apply here?

      • Magnus

        I think it might.

        …The best a man can get.

  • Burn Ender

    How long is it going to be before male only colleges? I think that would be a pretty powerful advertisement. “Come to our institution, we don’t have title IX policies that can ruin your academic life. We have due process at our institution.”

    • Ticklish Nipple

      It will never happen. Male-only colleges would be derided as “bastions of misogyny” or whatever and would be cut off from any kind of federal aid whatsoever. Look at how feminists behave when there’s any kind of “male-only” space – first they decry it as misogyny, then once the institution under assault buckles they infiltrate it like a disease, and finally they push out all the males and rename it a “safe space” for women. They do this or are currently attempting to do this with EVERYTHING, even VIDEO GAMING.

      • Burn Ender

        That is when you start trolling the feminists with their own fabricated statistics.

      • alex brown

        Perhaps private funding, charity funding can help male only colleges get off the ground.

        We need to fight for male only spaces in general if the MRA is to make any real headway. I think the fight for male only space is one of the core issues.

    • mike gibbs

      Sign me up

    • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

      “Come to our institution and be celibate for the next four to eleven years.” I don’t think it’ll sell for eighteen to twenty-nine year olds. But it’s worth a shot I guess.

  • Grant

    I really can’t judge whether there is veracity to any of these reports. What I can say is what I’ve always said. Universities should not be investigating rape – full stop. If, after an initial report to police is made they need to involve campus police to track down suspects or witnesses then that should be the only time campus authorities get involved. The bouncing back and forth between Boston PD and Emerson campus was what caused all these problems? Refer everyone with a sexual assault complaint directly to the police. That’s where these cases should be investigated and prosecuted.

    *Edit : Persons in university are adults. If an 18 year old in the workforce were to experience sexual assault there would be no community rape report center where it was handled with lackluster skill. They go straight to the police; why should university be different?

    • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

      full stop. absolutely.

  • DukeLax

    Honestly folks…this is what happens when the US dept of education gets to keep pork bloating their already massive out of control bureaucracy. Same thing is happening in the now massive bureaucratic juggernauts of the US dept of justice!!!
    These massive state and federal “pork bloating triangles” and their “make work” practices are getting so massive…they are starting to strip the constitutionally guaranteed due process rights of Americans!!! These massive pork bloated bureaucracies and triangles need to be chopped in half…to start with..Then we can start chopping off all the other cancerous pork bloating cells after that!!!

  • DukeLax

    MR Ohara…this is a fine work here sir!!!

  • http://www.avoiceformen.com/ David King

    Exactly.

  • alex brown

    “that would make the percentage of women on campus raped that year to be 0.1%, or 1 in 969 female students.”

    Patriarchy taking a year off from oppressing women or something?

  • Andrejovich Dietrich

    .1% hmmmm. Well even if those Harpies even accepted that number. They would still scream “when you rape .1% of us, you rape us all. No rape is acceptable so we need to spare no expense or men’s lives to stamp it to 0%.”…

  • DukeLax

    Due process rights are constitutionally protected, and trump these stupid title nine bureaucratic administrative laws.

    • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

      In theory but not reality. Tens of millions of men have been denied relationships with their children despite due process and the presumption of innocence.

    • ShlomoShunn

      Rights are only good if they’re enforced.

      Many men in prison had rights…on paper.

  • DukeLax

    Due process rights are constitutionally protected, and trump these stupid title nine bureaucratic administrative laws.

  • crydiego

    More young women need to know how to file such complaints. I think the school should hold clases on how to file and how to fill out the complaints for the best results. The funding for such classes should come from the schools. These young women need to know that they can file these complaints for physical, verbal, emotional, or imagined sexual assult. These schools are nothing but festering pits of sexual assult and I suspect that a majority of the male staff and faculty are part of the problem; lie detector tests should be administered to them all! Those that fail or were near failing should be given counseling at their expence.
    Who are these men that run these schools where 25% of the young women are raped? They should be required to sit next to anyone accused and admit they are an accomplice to the crime. A female has been raped; we don’t need no trial, we just need a rope!

  • mwalker

    I don’t understand the purpose of publishing this article, nor can I fathom how you feel comfortable posting an unverified document containing such sensitive information. This does nothing to protect men, it only serves to hurt 3 women, the lives and experiences of which you know nothing about.

  • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

    There is a bigger issue here I hope everyone sees. If this draft is genuine (and I have no doubt that it is but I still have to qualify my statement), it shows a corrupt process doing the right thing. Whether the corrupt process does the right thing or not is irrelevant. The process is still corrupt and violates the rights of men who are almost all of the accused. The problem here isn’t the outcome (as the outcome in this case seems reasonable even though all four women should be charged with felonies but weren’t); it’s the process. It may have worked this time but it is too easily abused and corrupted for the nefarious purposes of those who want to abuse it. The goal of our government is to show that the process works so that it can be expanded and perpetuated and once it is shown to work, then there will be a bait and switch where it will be used as a weapon against men. Notice the outcome of this process already. The two women were never punished for their behavior. That says it all. Whether a process persecutes men or not is not the only issue here. It’s whether or not it processes false accusers properly and this one doesn’t. And it can still be used to persecute innocent men at will.

  • TPH

    The only way schools are going to change and stop star chamber proceedings is for the accused male students to file lawsuits and cost the schools lots and lots of money. If the police and prosecutors don’t file charges and obtain a conviction for sexual assault, then the schools need to drop the matter. They won’t do that because there is money involved in title IX. When it comes to male students, the schools will throw them into the grinder rather than face a loss of governmental funds. Legalized misandry for money, that’s what title IX has become. It’s all about the money and who gets it.

    • ShlomoShunn

      > “The only way schools are going to change and stop star chamber proceedings is for the accused male students to file lawsuits and cost the schools lots and lots of money.”

      Did feminist laws get passed by individual women?

      Why is the obvious solution never entertained: the men’s movement fighting for, you know, men?

      N.O.W. files lawsuits, goes to bat for women, lobbies legislators. Yet we expect individual men to fight alone, by themselves, for “all men.”

      No wonder the women’s movement continues to grow and attack. Feminists use mass media, present bills, and file lawsuits. They get politicians and celebrities to endorse their views. They have endless events, courses, walks, reporter-attacting activities.

      The men’s movement? It mostly types online.

      The MRM had one international conference in 1981 at a major university near NYC.

      After 33 years, it is having a second one: in VFW hall in Detroit, a failing city.

      • TPH

        You have valid points. Lawyers cost money. N.O.W. has deep pockets groomed from years of getting companies and the government to fund them, not to mention women’s groups and individuals. The men’s movement is really starting to gain some traction. The funding will come when the main stream media cannot ignore the situation boys and men face in education, employment, suicide, health care disparities, Et Cetera.

        Celebrities and Politicians want to stay safe, very few are willing to stick their neck out and be controversial.

        The large events are coming in the near future. With all the publicity the bigots have generated for the Boys and Mens conference, it’s just a matter of time.

  • Stu

    And when the pushback is successful, they will just modify Title IX

    • ShlomoShunn

      Are men willing to fight back? Thus far, the MRM hasn’t been willing. It still expects individual men, or groups like FIRE, to oppose feminism. They rarely make feminists pay a price, heeding the “never hit a female” fatwa.

      Of course, it’s that very stance that lets feminism flourish.

      You don’t get federal laws without years of local activism building to national leverage, without local laws morphing into national ones. For decades, women’s groups were heavily engaged. Early on they knew enough to have full-time, paid activists, lawyers, etc. They also wrote grant applications, etc.

      The MRM, even today (after 50 years of feminism), has done none of that. Yet guys got rid of the Third Reich in just 6 years, the whole shebang lasting only 12.

      Several “titles” assure equal courses, classes, etc. for men and women in college. Feminists focused on sports, making a HUGE impact (think girls in the 1960s played soccer?). On the other hand, no men’s groups pushed for Men’s Centers or Men’s Studies or even courses on how men felt during the Industrial Revolution, etc. There are a few courses on military matters, for example, but most all about what men DID. There is precious little on what men thought and how they felt during and after combat, for example.

      We can surely blame women for pursuing misandry.

      We can also blame men for letting feminism have a free hand. We can also hold them accountable for not protecting other men or even families.

      Finally, it will be interesting to see how colleges respond…now that they find themselves smeared like accused men:

      > “a college or university’s appearance on this list and being the subject of a Title IX investigation in no way indicates at this stage that the college or university is violating or has violated the law.”

      TRANSLATION: “You might be scumbag schools that promote rape on your campuses, letting vile males take advantage of helpless, drunk females, but maybe not.”

      Bwahahahahahahah!

      It’ll be fun to see how these “shamed by media” schools handle the situation…especially when feminist groups and blogs and reporters are covering it.

      Good times!

  • http://www.avoiceformen.com/ David King

    The distinction is that those redacted have been accused of a crime and not (yet) convicted, where those named are neither accused of any sort of crime, nor likely to be.

    It speaks volumes that you consider accusation equivalent to guilt, or why would you suggest that this article is protecting predators?

    Innocent until proved guilty, which is to say, justice. Your namesake would be embarrassed for you.

  • https://www.facebook.com/ Darryl Jewett

    Because there are no practical consequences for accusers if they’re telling the truth. The only practical consequences from publishing names is for the accused. The only reason an accuser (almost always female) would be bothered by her name being broadcast is that she is lying (which is most of the time). She doesn’t want knowledge to get out that she is lying and accusing falsely an innocent man. That’s why it should be common practice to publish the names of accusers and not the accused instead of the other way around which is the way it usually is. It will discourage liars from lying and protect the innocent from the lies. It’s easier to find enough people to bear false witness against an innocent man to have him convicted than it is to prove a man’s innocence.

  • Justice4All

    You are either a complete idiot or a troll but either way your comments are ridiculous. The names of the accused should be protected until such time as a criminal conviction is recorded because in the United States of America an accused person is presumed innocent until PROVEN guilty. Thus to demolish the names and lives of innocent men is unconscionable. These women went to media with their contrived stories and in doing so removed themselves from the protection provided by the media to accusers (even false accusers).